DISCONNECTED.

Connected.  It seems like, nowadays, we are connected to technology 24/7.  My laptop and cellphone come with me wherever I go, therefore, I fear, so does my work.  It is so difficult to disconnect.  Our school has a 1:1 laptop policy, which means technology is a very valuable tool for us in our day to day teaching.  Actually, it is a necessity.  Throughout the past 5 years, I have come to notice how easy it is for my students to misuse this amazing device.  We have had many discussions about this with co-workers.  One very wise co-worker mentioned a theory:  the first contact our young generations have with technology is as an entertainment device, not necessarily a tool.  Digital Natives view technology as play before work, whereas Digital Immigrants view technology as work before play.  Our first contact with technology is what defines its primary use.  Regardless, whether it is used for work or play, we are connected for both and we are taking face-to-face interactions for granted.  My students’ stamina to stay engaged online is far longer than being engaged with me during a mini-lesson.  My stamina to read a book is far less than when I research online (yikes!).  Digital overload is very real, and as an educator it scares me.  As an educator I struggle more and more for my students to connect with me during valuable learning moments that don’t involve technology.  I notice the difference year after year. This year, during Quiet Time, after lunch, students must be technology-free, and I need to model this.  It is a struggle, but one I will insist upon until the end.  Yes, the famous “disconnect to connect” motto rules my Quiet Time. Disconnecting to connect with ourselves and with each other.  

5 thoughts on “DISCONNECTED.

  1. I love this. Obviously there is a lot of good that comes with our technological age, but there really is so much bad as well. As teachers we just learn to go with the curve and we will figure it all out together. Very clever post – thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had never heard of the term “disconnect to connect”. It rings true. After using technology all day, my brain is fatigued and all I want to do is vegetate. It even impacts he desire to connect once disconnected.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I retired from teaching 3 years ago, and it sounds like technology has become even more prevalent in the classroom since I left. I love that you have a time in the day where students have to disconnect. It’s so interesting that you have to model how to do this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A mother in a meeting the other day told me about a book she had read about going on a technology diet. That the withdrawal, in a good way, changed the way our brain works. I wonder about that. I’m sure we don’t know all the implications of technology on our brain development and thinking. i do know that I can feel fatigue when I have spent too long on technology in one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment