IMAGINE

Brisk walks that turn into slow runs. Sight and breath focused on the short journey. Staring at the pavement moving beneath running shoes. Suddenly, bursts of color catch my sight. They make me stop. Yellows, oranges, pinks, greens, blues, reds, all staring at me.

I stare back. Straight into the large brown eyes, then down onto the yellow symmetrical nose and crimson mouth. Such an impact. The magnitude, the outlines, the contours, the colors. Everything.

This mural, placed in a quiet corner, on a quiet street. Very discreet, not seeking nor begging for attention. Yet bright enough to make one stop. To make one stare. To make one imagine.

Imagine a world of beauty. Imagine a world of colors. Imagine a world of peace. Imagine a world of respect. A world in which we all breathe from the same atmosphere. A world which comes alive with diversity. A world that cherishes freedom. A world that protects life.

Imagine, a world where you took the time to know. As you stare at this mural you see the artist’s signature. You realize it is familiar. You realize you have met and sat with this person once or twice. Never knowing they were an artist. Never knowing they could produce such works of art. Not taking the time to know.

Lowering my gaze, disconnecting from the large eyes staring at me, I turn and continue on. I imagine. Imagine a world were we took the time to know. To know about each other’s strengths. To build upon each other’s strengths. I imagine a world where we are all murals. Discreet, yet bright enough to make an impact. Imagine.

Imagine all the people living life in peace. You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will be as one.”

John Lennon

Leave a comment